What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

ok newbie here, advice please!

hey everyone
i found this forums through wikipedia

Well i want a venus fly trap, i am planning to buy one (they sell small ones in B&Q)

I am in london england by the way

I was wondering if it is ok to keep my fly trap indoors? I was thinking of keeping it actually by my PC, or in my room. But i was wondering if this will be ok in terms of lighting, heat etc. Will it survive ok?

I have been reading up on basics such as distilled water and stuff, but i am a big beginner so help/advice woul dbe much appriciated thanks!

read the vft care sheet at the top of the page
that will help a lot
then if you have any Q's ask
good luck

Welcome to TF!. Distilled, rain, RO. deionized water is appropriate for them. However, VFT's are really an outdoor plant, particularly during the growing season (now). They need all the light they can get and artificial lighting is inferior to direct sunlight.

If you just want a cool desk plant then yeah you COULD grow VFT's indoors next to your PC. You just have to make sure you have a powerfull light on them that wont burn them.

Like everyone else said, they do best outdoors in nice full sun. But they will survive desk life if given enough light.

I will add that they DO need their dormant period or they will weaken and die.

Tom

After a few years, maybie. The most I have seen anyone take a VFT without dormancy was 3 years and even then it looked very strong.

I'm a relative newbie at growing carnivorous plants, too. I bought two this year (one is really two plants squished into one pot, I suppose I'll have to separate them next spring) and have kept them indoors.