What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

P.laueana

Cindy

Staff member
My P. agnata, P. cyclosecta and P. ehlersiae are all doing well in a diatom:peat mix.

Somehow, the P. laueana is not growing very much and seems a little weak.

What do you guys/gals use as the medium for this plant? And are the growing conditions similar to your other mexican pings?

Thanks.

<span style='font-size:12pt;line-height:100%'>Cindy,

I have been growing Pinguicula laueana for several years now. I have yet to get it to grow as vigorously as other Pinguicula or even to bloom.
sad.gif

I have tried various media and cultivation regimen. My next attempt will be with giving them natural light and seasonal change of same.</span>

I grow Pinguicula laueana like all the other Mexican. Here is a page on this species.

Just keep in mind that I live in France so the conditions must change.

Pinguicula laueana

You can also see here some Pinguicula laueana in habitat to give you idea of the conditions you can copy

Postcard 5

I grow mine pretty successfully in pure lfs. It has not flowered yet, but seems happy, and I expect it to this year. My temps are between 60 and 80 degrees and 50+% humidity.

Capslock

mine grow well in a "peat"/perlite/vermiculite mix. they are just all starting to flower now in my cool greenhouse (45 F minimum)

Thanks, everyone. How do you water the ping? Overhead?

no, they stand in a water tray, a few cm in summer, almost empty in winter

Thanks, everyone. It seems that it won't mind a wetter medium. Capslock's pure lfs and gardenofeden's tray method...

Pings in Singapore's weather often die due to root rot so I was extra careful with the watering but now maybe it's time to water the laueana more often than the rest.