What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

I am relatively new to carnivorous plants and several weeks ago purchased a small pot of Pinguicula moranensis to play around with and see if they could help with a fungus gnat problem I have been struggling with lately.  However, I fear I may have done something horrible to them!  

These particular P. moranensis were growing in straight, sopping wet, 85% broken down, stinky, stagnant LFS that had obviously seen better days.  No matter what I did to this mix nor how carefully I watered it would not even begin to dry out.  The plants themselves were showing signs of decline--rotting older foliage and loss of vigor--so I took pity on them (or so I thought) and repotted them into a much lighter, airier mix of sphagnum peat moss, sand, vermiculite, perlite and pumice (1:1:1:1:1 ratio) per "The Savage Garden."  

Of course with the original growing medium this far gone, I had to remove as much as possible.  I was shocked to discover that what roots my precious P. moranensis had were maybe 1/2" long at most and that the healthy inner leaves, after removing the decaying outer foliage, seemed to want to break away with even the lightest touch.  

So I repotted them into fresher mix as gently as I could and I took the healthy leaves that broke away and placed them right-side-up on top of barely damp vermiculite in a shallow, covered seed tray in hopes that they may root and send up babies.