Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Thread: Newbie tank suggestion

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Arrow

I've always wanted to setup a "ghost fish tank" themed aquarium. You know, with some freshwater fish that have see-through flesh, some ghost shrimp or crawfish, glow-in-the dark toys, a supplimental blacklight, spooky rocks...the whole 9 yards.

Thing is, I'm a newbie and I still have to pitch this idea to my parents because the cps have taken over my room and this will have to be a family tank. So it has to be fairly inexpensive, and easy to maintain. Nobody wants to see dead fish floating in a tank next to the dinner table. I have a 10 gal cp terrarium that I can convert, so I have the hood w/light and the tank itself. All I'd need is the pumps and critters right? I also have RO water - so I assume I won't have to wait for the water to settle for too long.

Here's where I need some help - please give me some suggestions for the type of fish to put in and their compatibility. I don't know any of the names so it's hard to research specific fish. One splash of color might be cool, I saw a pic of a blue crawfish somewhere. I'd prefer critters that "glow" or are "see-through" for this themed tank. I have access to a few mom and pop pet shops, a petsmart, and two mall petstores (yuck)

I know that tetras are rather see-through and easy plus many of them seem to glow. And I think the freshwater shrimp will keep down the algae count. Glassfish seem like a good choice. I have the feeling crawfish would munch on the fish...

So here's what's currently on my "possibilities" list:

Tetras (glowlight or neon)
    Glassfish - and no, I won't buy the painted ones
    Ghost Shrimp
    Crawfish
    Scud
    Ghost Catfish (probably too big)

Anyone have any suggestions? If this tank gets made, I will certainly post pics! Thanks in advance!
    A flytrap ate my homework!
    -Michelle

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)