What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Is my platy pregant??

• Thread starter buckeye
  • Start date
Hi all.  I'm kind of new to having fish and I was wondering if one of the platys I own is pregnant or if it has fish bloat.  I'm thinking it's pregant since the fish's lower belly is swollen and it doesn't have scales protruding out. Here's some pictures:

The lower fish is the one I'm wondering about:
100_0401.JPG

It's on the left in this picture:
100_0398.JPG

100_0406.JPG

Thanks,

-buckeye

First, How much have you been feeding them? How long have you had them? Do they follow each other alot?

[b said:
Quote[/b] ]First, How much have you been feeding them?
I have 9 fish in the tank. So I give them a good pinch of flake food twice a day. The fish always eat all the food within a couple minutes too.

[b said:
Quote[/b] ]How long have you had them?
2 1/2 weeks.

[b said:
Quote[/b] ]Do they follow each other alot?
Yes they do. I rarely see them appart.

-buckeye

Your platy may very well be pragnant. I'm not very good at telling things from pictures, we'll just have to wait until some expert comes in and chime...*cough*biggun110*cough*.... well, from my past experience, livebearers which includes platy's, mollies, swordtail, guppies etc... They have a tendency to BREED like CRAZY. I would recommend setting up a fry tank or adding more plants so if they do give birth the other platies won't swallow them up. Also a good source of food for the frys will be great. A great source that somebody told me (Bobby aka Biggun) is www.brineshrimpdirect.com, but another method is grinding up flakes etc. Well there a lot of methods out there.