What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Tank updated shots

Still needs some stuff though. Big blank spots!

tank.jpg

The whole tank. Dunno if keeping this tank on a really low fishload was good or not...as IMO this pic looks a bit crowded! At the current fishload, everyone gets about 3.5 gallons of water...

left.jpg

The left side. You can see the narrow leaf java fern...the Hygrophila corymbosa var. augustifolia, and the java moss(foreground...tied to rocks) that Biggun110 so generously gave to me.
smile.gif

Any suggestions would be great!

Wowee, that's a nice tank with lots of texture. Any chance you could add some colorful plants that would still go with the natural look? I'm a fish newbie myself, so I couldn't give you names, there's one cool-looking green plants that looks like it's missing everything but its veins, has lots of squarish holes in it.

Thanks wickedthistle! This tank is still in its infancy, and there are a few blank spots I would like to fill with plants. Still don't have the layout finalized

The plant I think you mentioned is probably the madagascar lace leaf. Sci name is aponogeton madagascarensis. Beautiful plant, but according to information online they are quite difficult to keep alive...need high light and cool water.

However, there are many other kinds of aponogetons. While none have the lacy effect as much as madagascarensis...I think that the ruffled edges on crispus and some other species quite attractive. If you have a moderate sized tank and want some apogonetons, these would be the best bet.

For colorful plants, Im thinkin of something for the back right corner. I may use Echinodorus x. 'ozelot' (ozelot sword) or perhaps a Red Tiger Lotus. A red melon sword could also work.