What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Live Sphagnum Moss Propagation

I did a search here for a place to get Live Sphagnum Moss and I read that you can grow live sphagnum from dead Long Fibered Sphagnum, but I've been using it for like 3 years now and I never get any live sphagnum growing out of it, I usually use it as a top dressing for my sarrs. Maybe it's just because they don't stay wet enough as a top dressing? BTW, I have a good source to buy LFS from but now I'm just curious as to how I can grow my own... since then I don't have to buy anything. :p

i seem to get live growth when using New Zealand LFS.
Try it in a covered bag, or pot and you should see some live growth after a few weeks.
Peter.

I have a very good source of LFS. It's in a ditch near my house. Matter of fact I have found hundreds of ditches with LFS growing in it.

Ozzy, I'm sure that's not the only joy of living in NC. >_>

Av8tor1, I'll save that as a favorite for later but I forgot to mention that I have absolutely no LFS right now. I originally had an N. sanguinea growing in pure LFS but the dog ate most of it. (It left the sanguinea though.) So, since I don't have any LFS I can't use the methods explained on that site, but thanks it'll help me when I actually get some. I think Sarracenia Northwest is my best bet so I'm going to start there if I can't get any of my own to sprout.