User Tag List

Informational! Informational!:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Ladybugs as pest control (not for CPs obviously :))... any experiences?

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Ladybugs as pest control (not for CPs obviously :))... any experiences?

I know a lot of you guys are into bugs as well as bug-eating plants (ironically! ) sooooo....

My poor little container garden is starting to get a nasty aphid infestation :P so I'm considering ordering a package of ladybugs to help control them. I heard somewhere that a little dish soap in water would take care of the pests in the short term, which is what I did for now, but I really don't care for soapy tomatoes and cucumbers come harvest time. Has anybody tried using ladybugs for aphid control before? Success or tips? I'd like to avoid nuking everything with pesticides if possible... I'm not a crazily pro-organic person but minimizing pesticide use never hurt anyone
    "Seeds? Oh yeah... sometimes I forget they grow from those. I feel like they should hatch or something."

~a friend's observation of my CP's

Tropical Fish Enthusiast jimscott's Avatar
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I understand your concern for the ues of pesticides and respect it. How does one keep the ladybugs from wandering off?

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    i know the greenhouse i worked at used them all the time to knock back aphid infestations they say it worked really well
    cervid serial killer
    Know guns, know peace, know safety. No guns, no peace, no safety
    I didn't get stimulated but he kept his promise on change, that's about all I got left!
    http://www.wolfpointherald.com/--http://www.safety-brite.net/

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    i would think that would only work in an enclosed environment...like a greenhouse.
    Alex