Likes Likes:  0

Thread: A sad and unpleasant question

Let's positive thinking! seedjar's Avatar
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Unhappy A sad and unpleasant question

My eldest chinchilla, Sarah, passed away last night, several days after a veterinary procedure to correct some crooked teeth. She had been recovering OK, but took a sudden turn for the worse around Thursday, and I didn't realize how serious the situation was until it was too late to get her to a clinic last night.
    Because I am a student and rent my home, I am reluctant to bury her in my yard, and I am unsure of what to do with her remains. Sarah was very precious to me and I want to honor her. It's kind of gruesome, and I feel strange asking it, but would it be OK to burn her body in my fireplace, so that I could save the ashes until I figure out what to do with them? I have a small wood-burning stove in my home. It gets quite hot when I get it going, so I'm fairly confident the fire would do the job, but this week has been difficult enough for me, I don't want to risk something like a chimney fire. Do any of you have any ideas about what I should do?
    Thank you,
    ~Joe
    o//~ Livin' like a bug ain't easy / My old clothes don't seem to fit me /
    I got little tiny bug feet / I don't really know what bugs eat /
    Don't want no one steppin' on me / Now I'm sympathizin' with fleas /
    Livin' like a bug ain't easy / Livin' like a bug ain't easy... o//~

Stay chooned in for more! Clint's Avatar
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'm sorry man
    Don't do it yourself man. There are places that will cremate your pet for you. Like these for example:

Aberdeen: Petland Cemetery, Inc., P.O. Box 184, Aberdeen WA 98520, (800) 738-5119

Bellevue:The Humane Society for Seattle/King County, 13212 SE Eastgate Way, Bellevue, WA 98005, (425) 641-0080, http://www.seattlehumane.org/euthanasiasvcs.shtml, humane@seattlehumane.org