Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: What can you cook?

Is ready to take this hobby to a whole new level DavyJones's Avatar
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

What can you cook?

Hi all. A big interest of mine over the past couple years has been the art of cooking. Although I am only a college student, I often spend my Sunday afternoons slaving away over the store trying to make some new creation. I enjoy cooking, and indeed find it a relaxing and rewarding experience. It is fun to challenge yourself by attempting new dishes of increasing skill, and to tweak old classics by adding a little bit of this and less of that. Last Sunday I tried my arm at an old French classic, Coq au Vin. It is chicken that is cooked in wine (traditionally Burgundy, but you can also use a dry red, normally Pinot Noir for this dish) along with some other ingredients. In the end you end up with a very rich sauce, which I complimented with a French potato dish called Pommes Anna. I was rather proud of it, so I thought I'd share, and see what other people on the forum enjoy cooking. I can also make some excellent Indian and Thai curry dishes, both of which I have taken from base recipes and then tweaked a bit to where I would consider them my version, I can make a mean baked gourmet macaroni and cheese, and when I'm feeling extra zealous, I will whip up Flan from scratch, which is actually rather difficult. So here are a few pics of the Coq au Vin during cooking and on the plate.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket
    "We are in a sense the Universe trying to understand itself. By Observing it we are observing what we are." - Phillip Plait

Growlist: Updated 1/11/12 http://www.terraforums.com/forums/sh...d.php?t=110846

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Lookin' good!

The only thing I can cook well is Chinese sweet and sour chicken.

I'm working on Pad Thai Noodles, as that is one of my favorite foods.

Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged