What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Some Flower Pictures

Crissytal

What is and what should never be
Here are a few flowers that I took pictures of. Go easy, I'm still learning the camera :).

U. sandersonii
IMG_0996.jpg

D. indica 'Green Form'
IMG_0999.jpg

P. moctezumae
IMG_1003.jpg

And for fun, U. humboldtii
IMG_1002.jpg

Thanks for looking,
Crystal

Nice! there's a cute D. capensis ( i think) in the U. humboldtii pot :)

Last edited by a moderator:
wow looks great crystal!

its true your U. humboldtii is under attack!

the camera did a pretty good job, how was the autofocus? did you get lost in the background when you were focusing some of those shots?

Thanks guys! That indeed does seem to be a D. capensis Pet. No idea where it came from, must have come along in the moss.

Chris, I didn't use a tripod or anything, just held the camera. I probably could have done better. The marco lens and the appropriate setting on the camera do a pretty good job with the autofocus. There's no minimum distance that it has to be from the object. I do have options for manual focus, but didn't use them because I was just holding the camera. Not completely sure what you mean by lost in the background, but a few were out of focus. That would have been fixed if I wasn't being lazy :). If I get a chance I'll try again this weekend (and take the time to use the tripod). Flowers are tricky.

Crystal

flowers are very tricky, sometimes the camera will lose the ability to pick out that tiny flower scape as the object it needs to focus on, and the hand wobble your going to produce no matter who you are is enoough to sometimes throw off the autofocus when you have a busy background :)