Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: The Approaching Storm

SirKristoff is a poopiehead Ozzy's Avatar
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

The Approaching Storm

Today I was in the Green Swamp with another member from here. I'll let thet person identify themselves if they wish.

By the time we got out I was covered with chiggers. When I got home I realized I had them from my neck down. I took a bleach bath and scraped off all I could with a knife. I had hundreds of them. I was still finding more hours after the bleach bath. I put a few on a white piece of paper and tried to get pics. They are the size of pinheads and I'm not very good with macro shots. I did the best I could.

An now I wait for the itching to start. They itch a little, but I know the worse is yet to come. It's like waiting for a really bad storm to arrive.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Chiggers: one thing I do not miss about Florida. Along with mosquitos and large spiders.

Jason

Hello, I must be going... Not a Number's Avatar
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Maybe you got lucky and washed most of them off before they started to feed:

http://mdc.mo.gov/nathis/arthopo/chiggers/
    The best precaution against chigger bites is simply taking a warm soapy bath with plenty of scrubbing as soon as possible after exposure. If you bathe at once, while the chiggers are still running over your body, you can wash them off before they bite. A bath will also remove any attached and feeding chiggers before you start to feel the itch.

Warm soapy water is all that is necessary to remove and kill chiggers. There is no need, and it is rather dangerous, to apply household products such as kerosene, turpentine, ammonia, alcohol, gasoline, salt or dry cleaning fluid. Don't do it.