What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

An Interesting Opportunity

Vbkid

Getting There...
This week I began my senior year in college. I am majoring in Nuclear Engineering, and am taking an upper level lab course. In the class, we are allowed to design a semester long laboratory utilizing our reactor. Basically, this means we have the opportunity to irradiate things and run experiments with them. My lab group (3 of us) has already decided we would like to irradiate either seeds or soil at different levels, and see how the plants grow, lethal dose of the seeds, radiation in the full grown plant, etc...we are also considering irradiating invertebrates and watching them develop.

With this opportunity in mind, I immediately though of carnivorous plants and whether we might tailor this experiment specifically towards them. I am very open to any comments, thoughts, or ideas anyone might have to help. Keep in mind that will will be needing to measure quantitative features in the grown plants/seeds.

Thanks,
vbkid

There's a post floating around the web of Nepenthes pitchers that glow in the dark due to some sort of DNA trans location. Would be cool if you were able to obtain a stable mutation longterm. Though nothing x-men style will occur, any abnormalities in the progenies will be neat to observe.
Your quickest results would be with Drosera seeds. D. capensis seeds are quite easy to get a hold of if you're looking for certain names. You'll also be able to observe a whole life cycle of the plant unike with a Nepenthes or Sarracenia.
Sounds like a neat project, keep up us to date on the progress!

Wow, this sounds very interesting. I, too, would like to hear of your results. :)