What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Google Sketchup users?

Hey folks just been watching some You Tube videos about how to use Sketchup, Google's Free 3D program. I want to work out both the build of my new vivarium stand before I build and the layout room they'll be in and see what sort of setup I like best.

Right now the only thing that I am perplexed with is why i can't push an internal square all the way through a coplanar box and have it disappear like in the tutorial videos, it just makes a square pushing out the opposite side. Handy for some things I'm sure but want it to disappear and make a punchout or "window".

Just curious if any of you have used Sketchup and feel like sharing your models or have any tips for a complete newbie at it. At least I can comprehend what to do using this compared to Blender where I just stare dumbfounded at the screen and poke at random buttons until I get to something asking for number inputs, then I shut the software down! LOL

o i love that i use it all the time

Are you trying to make cut outs but all you end up with is window shaped indent? Well if so what I do id just make the indent, not all the way, just as deep as you want it, and click the face you want gone and press delete on your keyboard.

I'm not sure if I'm making sense, its a bit hard to explain, I'm sure if you fool around with it you'll learn.

Here's my model I've made a bunch but this is my most complicated and hardest, the hardest parts were the yellow shafts on the roof, and the doors and staircases. Its not even done yet