Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Possible Radiation Exposure Experiment

Getting There...
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Possible Radiation Exposure Experiment

I mentioned something to this effect last year, but I again have the opportunity to possibly conduct an experiment with regards to radiation effects on plants.
    I am studying nuclear engineering and I might be spending the summer on campus taking a class/working on my current research project, and thought as a side project I might utilize the nuclear reactor on campus.
    Initial thoughts for experiments are germination rates of drosera seed from varying levels of exposure, strike rate of leaf pullings from drosera exposed to varying levels etc.

Does anyone have any other interesting suggestions for what I might conduct?
    Also thoughts of seeing how neutron exposure measured up in sterilizing media compared to the photon exposure experienced in a microwave...this could have many applications

All suggestions are welcome!

--
    Also, conveniently, our delivery system is large enough to accommodate small TC vials, I wonder if something could be done with those!

Smile, it makes people nervous :) MH1's Avatar
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    LOL make a triffid

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The research might be more interesting if you could demonstrate a real world application.

UV radiation is certainly something that these plants would be naturally exposed to and are adapted to deal with. Within highland species, some plants live in conditions with higher insolation than others (i.e. north slope vs south slope). You could compare closely related species that are adapted to different levels of UV exposure and measure growth / seed set / germination following exposure.