What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rechargeable Batteries

• Thread starter jimscott
  • Start date

jimscott

Tropical Fish Enthusiast
Do rechargeable batteries eventually lose their capability of recharging. I've been using the same 4 batteries for the past 22 months and in the past few months they lhave enough life for a few pictures.

Last edited:
I would say yes. The science/chemistry I can't explain thoroughly enough, but, it is a well observed fact that laptop and cellphone batteries will lose their ability to keep a charge after many months/years of use. I'm sure some of the chemicals break down, or oxidize/reduce irreversibly with the amount of charge we push through them.

Some additional info :)

If you store lithium-polymer batteries for prolonged periods, charge them up to 60% approximately and only then put them away.
It is also suggested to avoid depleting the batteries completely repeatedly.
Older type of rechargeable batteries (Ni-Cd) have a memory effect when the battery looses its maximum capacity if it is repeatedly not fully charged and completely discharged.

This is what I have:

001-17.jpg

Do rechargeable batteries eventually lose their capability of recharging. I've been using the same 4 batteries for the past 22 months and in the past few months they onlhave enough life for a few pictures.

Yes, rechargable batteries lose much of their capacity over the time and over the charging cycles.

How quickly they go into bad condition depends on
- the battery system (mostly NiMh or Li-ion)
- the quality (brandname types usually provide better lifetime than noname types)
- the charger