What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

DIY LED plant light project

This debate has been going on for a while now with much more glister than gold. I've heard a lot of claims made in regards to LEDs. Quite frankly these claims smack of the hype used with compact fluorescent bulbs, and they were a bit of a bust when it came to a high end lighting solution--although I'm sure someone will disagree with that. As I am no expert on lighting, I would like to ask those who know better than myself, is there any scholarly consensus yet on the use of LED lighting for growing plants with high light needs, e.g., CPs, bell peppers, etc?

Wes,

It seems there are very few black and white answers when it comes to needed wavelengths....
Earlier research by Gioia D. Massa et. al., for NASA's ALSS showed quite a bit of variability in the needs of plants.
Some performed well with no FR, others poorly.... while some other observations were not understood and still needed further research.
(20% seemed to be a good metric for blue)

In some experiements CWF's seemed to provide benefits that were not achieved using RGB LED's.... which seemingly were still missing something or maybe were of the wrong balance.

I'm anxious to see your research when it becomes available, plant lighting has been one of my fav areas of interest for quite a while.

I also look forward to playing with my new Tristar when it arrives :)
(I ordered this heatsink/fan for it)

Last edited:
As I am no expert on lighting, I would like to ask those who know better than myself, is there any scholarly consensus yet on the use of LED lighting for growing plants with high light needs, e.g., CPs, bell peppers, etc?