Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: red sphagnum id

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Cool red sphagnum id

Hey, I was granted permission to collect some sphagnum on private property, and based on my lurking there are some sphagnum "guru's" out there. Its pretty compact and red, I'll post a pic in like an hour or so. Any help in species id would be awesome! let me know what you think
    Travis

Formerly known as Pineapple Nepenthesis's Avatar
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Compact and red... That described almost any red sphag species you will find.

A picture will help and the fact that it is red will narrow down choices, but it is almost impossible to ID sphag with hundreds of species out there that look almost identical. You need a microscope to examine the structure to be able to figure out what species it is, or at least have a shot at figuring it out.

I am a novice sphag collector and I just mark the original location it was collected, place it was bought, ect. and that is how I ID it.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    oooo purdy

silly flicker lol
    My Grow/Want Lists
    -The horticulturalist formerly known as Shortbus-

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Look exactly like the red sphag I have!... But mine is from Alabama and yours is from New York or one of those surrounding states... That really proves how much all sphag looks like other members of the genus!

I'd say just mark the exact location you got it at and once you've cultured it for a while, write down the growing conditions it likes, dormancy, ect.