Page 1 of 16 1234511 ... LastLast

Thread: Cheap Tissue Culture

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Cheap Tissue Culture

Hello TF,

I'm pursuing a new cheap project! Recently, I was assigned a project in school where we have 7 weeks to pursue anything we want, and then we give a presentation on the process and what we have learned by the end. It's an awesome opportunity, and I have decided to move up my summer plans of attempting Tissue Culture. I am a student, and do not have access to any of the $15,000 laminar flow hoods or other equipment typically used. I'm not even going to try doing this with the typical MS agar and growth regulators. I'm going cheap, with a budget of $50. So, I'm going to have to get inventive and be careful, because I know how sensitive this practice is, and I by no means expect to be successful. But I'm going to try very hard to be, and hope I get it right the second time around . What follows is where I am in the process of acquiring materials.

Today I bought most of the supplies I think I will need. These include:
    • A plastic box as a pseudo sterile hood as seen on the HTC webpage
    • 91% isopropyl alcohol
    • 70% isopropyl alcohol
    • Hydrogen peroxide (3% I believe)
    • 8.5% bleach (It was the best I could find, this was the super concentrated version too)
    • Inositol tablets
    • Multivitamin pills
    • Spray bottle to sterilize surfaces
    • Distilled water
    • Table sugar
    • Coffee filters to hold samples during sterilization

As per very nice instructions from BigBella, I still need for my media:
    • Agar
    • 10:10:10 fertilizer

In terms of equipment, all I need are:
    • Baby food jars
    • Long forceps
    • Pressure cooker

For those that have taken the time to read this far, I really appreciate that. There are a few questions I still need answered. They are the following: