What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Water!

Morpheus

CP Newbie
Hello all! I have a question for you guys. Since I am a newb when it comes to growing carnivorous plants and this will be my first summer growing them I need help with maintaining the proper level of wetness carnivorous plants need. I know that a tray method of an inch of water at the bottom of a waterproof tray works best. Here's my problem, where I live, central Kentucky, gets scorching hot summers with very little rain and lots of hot dry winds. Today the tempurature was somewhere in the mid to high 80's and the water in my trap completely evaporated. I know that if my dissolved mineral content in my tap water is low enough I can water them with that, but we have really hard water at my house. Do you guys know I any efficient way to keep the water in the tray longer? Or at least a good way for me to refill the tray without having to buy gallons of distilled water a week. If it helps I can pot pictures of my setup or attempt to post pictures of it.

I just make the drain hole in my outside mini bogs a couple inches below the surface level... (mine are probably 18" deep)
This gives me much more storage capacity and require much less maintenance, I rarely have to water mine.... and I too am in Kentucky.

Been doing it that way for many years....

Keep the whole tray in a nice, scorching-breezeless southern facing window?

Before I got my R/O system I was doing the same thing. I just bought a 3.5 gallon bottle and filled it at the Water Store or in a bind at the water machines that are always outside of grocery stores.

R/O unit is a great investment though