Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 7 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: DavidA's plants

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

DavidA's plants

Hey guys, Dave here and I'm just starting out my CP collection. Got them in yesterday, so I thought I'd share some pics.

My typical Dionaea:

I ended up trimming off the black trap in the back right. It had two small traps trying to grow in underneath it, and they need sun too. Also, it seems to have come with a stowaway, what looks like a small D. Capensis seedling (not shown). It was pretty smushed by the packing, but I used a small pin to peel it away from the soil medium, blew on it a bit to dry it off, and it seems to have perked back up. The leaves on it are kind of a pale white-ish green, so I'm wondering if it's an alba capensis. I know capensii are pretty much the weeds of the CP world, but it would be cool to try to grow it more and have a freebie. I'll try to get a pic of it tonight when I get off of work.

My D. capensis:

This Capensis came with a tag that said "DORMANT", and it does look like it is, but I find it odd that it is, but my VFT is not.

I kept them inside overnight, it was rainy with high wind gusts and I don't want them getting knocked over.

I transferred them to my front porch this morning. This is not a permanent spot for them. I put them there because I want to ease them into getting sun, and there are still some high winds (20 mph with 30 mph gusts) going here. I also put them on a bucket so when I walk my dog he doesn't try to mark them (I'm 99% sure that that would be bad).

You can actually see the little capensis in the VFT pot, towards the near edge, just left of the center.

And here is a view of the sunrise they get to see: