What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Mushrooms and guess the ping

First, This plant has come up, but I am not sure what it is. It appears to be a Ping, but it is not like the others I have seen. The leaves are ruffled, possibly multi-lobed, and semi-transparent. The glands and small hairs/tentacles are visible under a magnifier. It grows in a mound and is dark green. The plant grows by new leaves coming up and unfurling from the center as does a ping, but it divides easily like a Utric. It does not appear to have a bladder mass. Any ides?

Second, I also have a large number of conical mushrrom coming up from the milled sphagnum. Should the be destroyed?

Copper, can you describe the shroom (sorry, by all means I am not a ping expert)

I had a problem a while back with a conical yellow mushroom, kinda looked like lemon sorbet in a twisted way I guess.

I tried several things to get rid of them (though they didn't seem to be a problem) I sprayed it down with cleary's, which would clear the area for a while, I even burned it with a torch lighter to kill the 'roots' (my mind is playing games and the proper term suddenly eludes me). What I eventually discovered, is that this fruiting body (mushrooms are always fruiting bodies) was just part of a fungal organism that had spread throughout my entire tank, the only way I truly got rid of it (not sure it's forever since my I kept the rootballs intact around my plants) was to rip the tank apart and put new soil in.

Now, I should point out, I did this for other reasons, the soil was 2 years old, and my plants performance was tanking. The soil change re-invigorated them, and that was the goal, not the destruction of the fungus.