What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Hello everyone

Hello to all of you CP lovers,

I'm WildFire, 18 years, from the Netherlands, and trying to grow my plants well..... Its working out prety nice, but Í have some questions sometime's.... I'm trying to buy "the savage garden" but its kinda hard to find.....

Anyway, I'm kind of new to gardening and stuff, so can anyone please tell me how a burnt plant looks like??? doest it look all red and stuff??? In that case my vft could be burned..... me wouldn't like that...

In any case, Thanx for the replies everybody!
biggrin.gif

Greetings & happy growing!

WildFire

Generally burnt is black, and red in the center of a VFT trap indicates good light and health. WELCOME TO THE FORUMS and GOOD LUCK!!
biggrin.gif
smile.gif
alien.gif

Hi wildfire.  Welcome to the forums.  If your Vft's inner part of the traps is red then that means it has gotten plenty of sun and is very healthy.  If the petiole (the part that grows out of the ground and the trap is connected to) is reddish then that means it's a green dragon Vft.  A burnt plant's traps dry up and turn brown or black.  Hope this helps!!  
smile.gif

-buckeye

Edit: Oops, i guess lithopsman beat me!!
smile.gif

Hey everybody,

Thanx for the FAST replies, Didn't expect them!
Anyway, we've got a digital camera, so i'll make some pictures. One picture says more than a lot of words.  
tounge.gif

But for now, I guess my vft could be a green dragon allright....

See ya tomorow,

WildFire

Edit: Oops, bad language.....

Hi Wildfire..  welcome to the forums
smile.gif

Here are a couple very good resources for Venus Flytrap care and handling.
FAQ pages
PFT care sheet