Informational! Informational!:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Starting terrariums from scratch

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I am new to the terrarium scene, but i have been thinking about building one for a while. here is my general idea for the structure. i think that i am going to fabricate a frame made out of wood, datoed to accomadate the plexi glass i am going to use. once that is done i am going to silicon the plexi to the wood. that is really the general idea, except for the roof which will be the same construction with a hinge on the outside. does anyone have some suggestions for a place to start. i am sorry to be so mundane but it is all so new to me. any advice would be greatly appreciated.

ranchero

Stay chooned in for more! Clint's Avatar
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    i'd treat the wood with something to make it water proof/ rot resistant. i've never treated wood before so i really don't know what i'm talking about in that area lol.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    thanks, not a bad idea. i will look into shelacing it or something else. because i am new, should i create anytype of drainage holes on the bottom? i was under the impression that this wasnt necessary, but unsure.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    huh? why would you need to do that? i'm assuming your plants will be in pots, and then the pots will be placed in saucers.

if your going for garden-style, i'd pick something like plastic and not wood. i'd be afraid the wood would eventually rot or leak, even if it was treated.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    i was thinking garden style. you think that the wood would rot even under a coat of shelac and maybe even some poly vynl acetate. the problem with plastic is working with it and getting it cut down etc. any solutions to this?

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)