What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

New terrarium

I am new to Carnivorous plants and Terrariums (as my name suggests i'm big on marine/reef tanks) so i'll try not to sound like too much of a newbie
smile_m_32.gif

I just finished setting up my terrarium, i used a 20gal high aquarium, i added 2-3" on rocks/pebbles on the bottom for drainage, added 1" of long fibered moss, and 2-3" of peat moss on top of that.
I divided the tank into two sides, one for regular plants (ferns and ivy) and the other for carnivorous plants. I currently have one VFT. I have the terrarium infront of a window but have decided that this probably wont be enough so i dedcied to add 4 20watt Normal Output flourscents (sp?) for supplemental ligthing. I have no cover on the terrarium and since its in the same room as my 125gal reef tank (10x12 room) i'm hoping humidity will be kept constant enough.
Is there any suggestions that people can offer me? What am i missing or what should i have done? any advice willbe appreciated since i am in fact a newbie.

Brian

Hi Brian,
Welcome to the forum! Your set up sounds fine, but I don't grow my VFT's in terraria. I just keep them in pots out on the deck. I reserve the terraria for plants that really need the high humidity, like some kinds of nepenthes. If you live in a very dry part of the country, I would put drosera (sundews) in a terrarium, too.
Also, VFT's require dormancy, so if you have plants in the terrarium that grow all year, you'll have to remove the VFT in the winter to let it sleep. You may want to concider putting all tropical or all desiduace (sp?) plants in the tank so you don't go crazy every fall.

Cheers!

welcome!!