Informational! Informational!:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: White turks cap

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Most Turks cap's have red flowers (plant not actual cap). I have seen a couple white ones driving down the road. Does anyone have a white one?

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I suppose the remote possibility exists there has been a mutation of the North American native Lilium superbum... however, doubtful. The Turk's Cap Lily is reddish orange and I have no knowledge of any cultivars. It is most probable that what you are seeing are Asiatic Lily excapees. If those are in fact Asiatic Lily escapees, please pluck them all as they are obviously naturalizing so you'd be doing the environment a favor. Introduced species that "naturalize" displace and outcompete native species. This destroys diversity. These excapees are doing nothing but wreaking havoc in the environent. Please consider this, the quality of any wetlands is dependent upon the uplands.

Why don't you post a photo of what you have seen driving down the road and I'll take a stab at telling you what you've found. If I can't identify your "white Turk's Cap Lily", I can forward it to friends who can take a stab.

BoooOOOOooooo!!!!! unknownclown's Avatar
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ive found this...

here
    not sure if thats what youre refering to
    I am the weirdo who sits next to you on the bus!

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The photo includes our native Turk's Cap Lily (Lilium superbum). The photo also includes Lilium martagon and L. martagon album. Both are native to W. Asia although they have both naturalized in Europe and most notably in Britain. They are most unfortunately beginning to naturalize here on the continent of North America.

http://www.floralimages.co.uk/pic184.htm

BoooOOOOooooo!!!!! unknownclown's Avatar
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged