What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Anybody invest?

• Thread starter firewired
  • Start date
Hey, I'm brand new to the world of investing. I just started up some mutual funds through an investor and was thinking about buying some stocks. I have no idea where to begin though. There's some nice online sites for trading, but again.........I'm not really too sure where to begin. Does andybody own stocks here?

Joel

I have shares of ESOP through the mailing company I work at a few nights a week but the company chooses what sorts of things they invest in. I just know if I leave or they can me I get a nice check!

Our main customers hire us to mail out their monthly and quarterly stock portfolio statements and year end 1099s. I read through the "information booklet" inserts that the companies send to each recipient with their account reports to explain what things mean and I don't understand a darn thing! It may as well be in greek or chinese...
smile_n_32.gif

forget stocks. invest in internally flawless gems. when alexandrites came out, they were cheap. now they are about 10K a carat.

buy tanzanites from the D mine. they have ran out. they have tripled in the past few years. anything over a carat is a good investment.

spessartines are an excellent investment right now, too. aswell as burma rubies and natural imperial topaz.

seriously. stocks are too risky. gemstones never devalue and you can't lose money.

My advice would be to invest in stocks only recreationally. Do not put your savings or serious investments into single stocks. It is, however, perfectly good to play around with a small amount. You've done the right thing with the mutual funds, and remember, there is no such thing as a sure investment of any kind.