What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

new terrarium will this lizard tank work

i want to make a classic terrarium with some fairly easy starter plantsw any recomendations for those and with a litle more reinforcment wouold this ntank work?
DSC00909.jpg

UMMM, Im a NOOB!, but i can give u a hand, it look like a 45 gal acuarium, is 90large, 40wide and 50hight?, get a 2 30wats 5,000°K 5,500°K tubes, u can get a cold withe and a warm white too!, lighti blue light will make plants grow. so u can add 2X 6,500°K flourecents bulbs, and 2X 2,700°K or 4.100°K flouerencent bulbs, to add color to te terrarium, put 6,500°K on front so it will lokk clear to to human eye!, cover the half of the terrarium, and get some distiled water, low salt and ph, get easy plants, dont buy sarracenias they dont love terrarium =(, well mine dont get well in it. But D.adelae is KELW!, Clean the terrarium w this water and put down a 2cm (1") of silica sand and up a mix of sand 30% and peat 70%, mix it as u wish or use perlite, the light and substrate mixing is as each one like and see, just dont over water them, w cephalotus dont water the leaves, GOOD LUCK!
smile_n_32.gif

no its 15 gal sorry just remembered

My first tank (also a classic landscaped terrarium) was made from a reptile tank, too!

The biggest problems you will face when using a reptile tank instead of a real aquarium are:

1) Putting the reptile somewhere!
2) Usually these tanks have a hole in the bottom so you can run electrical stuff inside.

Use a rubber stopper and bathtub sealer on both sides to make sure water doesn't leak out.