What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Creating my first habitat

Hello everyone!

I need some help figuring out what I need to start growing some CPs. I am a college student who is finally moving out of the dorms and into a house :boogie: so I figured I needed something cool to fill all the extra room I'll have! I have been doing some research but I need help with a few specific things.

I am mostly interested in Venus Flytraps and Sundews, but I am open to any that would be a better fit. I live in Spokane, WA which is hot in the summers (80-100 F) and cold in the winters. The plants would be inside (un-air-conditioned but heated) so I think temperature should be fine. I'm not sure about humidity though. Browsing some weather history shows that it can drop to around 30% in summer. Will I need to buy a terrarium/aquarium in order to control humidity?

Another question is lighting. Everything I've read seems to assume at least partial sunlight during the day, but my plants will be in a basement with basically no sunlight. My plan is to get those clamp-on metal work lights and put in them good compact fluorescents. I'm not sure how many I'll need or how powerful bulbs I'll need.

Final question, does the "tray method" mean filling a tray with water and then placing the pots in it so the water is drawn up through the drainage holes in the pots? Does this completely replace "normal" watering methods?

Thanks for your patience.