Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Expanded Clay?

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Expanded Clay?

Hey all. I'm new to this, so bear with me. I was wandering, seeing as it is difficult to obtain many of the growing mediums reccomended for Nepe growth, could I use a mix of activated carbon, expanded clay (for drainage), the small amount of coco peat I have managed to scrounge up and then some spag upon the top? Its a big terrarium and I'm planting the plant straight in. Ideas?

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    where abouts do you live and what are you calling expanding clay?
    cervid serial killer
    Know guns, know peace, know safety. No guns, no peace, no safety
    I didn't get stimulated but he kept his promise on change, that's about all I got left!
    http://www.wolfpointherald.com/--http://www.safety-brite.net/

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    South West of Western Australia. Expanded clay, as in what is used for Hydroponics. I know the old school VFT growers use to use it alot.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    thats what i thought you were talking about but figured i would check........yeah should work.......warning though, if yah get patch of solid cocopeat it tends to break down and turn to sludge.......so long as its mixed well with the other material so that air can get to it, it should be fine.....

also i tend to recommend against doing that kinda planting with neps because if one gets sick or infected with pests its hard to remove it for treatment but push comes to shove they are your plants, a suggestion would be to put them in pots and than sink the pots into the substrate as this would make it easier to remove them if it becomes necessary.....

oh and welcome to the forums!
    cervid serial killer
    Know guns, know peace, know safety. No guns, no peace, no safety