Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Terrarium variety

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Terrarium variety

Im new to this but ive done a ton of research and so far this is what is in my terrarium. N Ventricosa Red, 3 typical form venus flytraps, 1 red dragon, 1 red pirahna, 1 dente, 1 big mouth, 1 big vigorous, 1 cross haired. 1 cape sundew, 1 staghorn sundew, 1 marshton dragon sundew, 1 forked sundew giant form. Now my only question is can i grow a cobra lilly in this terrarium with all the others? I know it needs cooler nights , but can all those other plants tolerate cooler nights? I also plan on completeing my terrarium with a cupped trap venus, an austalian pitcher small, and an N Truncata. Out of all these plants listed which ones have the greatest root base? if placed together will any of these rob the other of water?

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    All VFTs are best grown outside, I seriously recommend finding them a better spot outside. Some of your sundews will do better outside as well though a terrarium is fine like binata. As for Darlingtonia I would set it outside as well.
    Be careful with some of your plants like the Cephalotus, it's not a recommended plant for beginners, not saying it'll die on you but it'll need more maintenance then a D. capensis.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    well the terrarium is in a south facing window that gets about 4 hours of direct sunlight a day. and the temp doesn't go over 90-95 at highest. I have a small fan blowing air into a tipped up part of the lid to keep the air filtered so mold and fungus wont grow. Plus i live in a pretty dry climate so i doubt mold and fungus will be much of a problem. but besides that i am dead set on a terrarium.. even bought humidity and temperature gauges. and if any are difficult to maintain please give me some basic tips on keeping them healthy

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)