What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

PC Fan Wiring Tutorial

A lot of people have asked me how I wired a PC fan to supply cool air to my HL tank or just so they can cool off their lights so I finally got around to making this tutorial. If you just need to wire a fan for your lights just follow the wiring*. If you need to supply cool air to a HL tank through a duct you'll need to build a mount for the fan, there may be a bunch of ways to accomplish that but this is how I do it.

*I am not an electrician - good luck! :D

First are the parts:

Power supply for a 12V DC computer Fan
If you buy one like this you can run up to 1 AMP worth of fan, the one I will be running is 0.36A. Be sure to buy a sufficiently powerful power supply to run your fan. A cell phone charger might not be powerful enough. This model has variable voltage so I can make my fan run at various speeds. I think I got these off ebay for $9.99 each postage paid.
fan1.jpg

I got my new fan from Radio Shack because they are sturdier than the cheaper all plastic ones but also a bit pricier. This new model they have moves air at 85 CFM it's actually cold in front of it! This fan was $19.98

fan2.jpg

*WHY DON'T I USE ROUND "DUCT FANS"? BECAUSE THEY'RE LOUD!!!

This is the panel the fan will be mounted to so it can blow into the terrarium. The panel can then be mounted or hung where it can gather cool air. This panel is found in the duct work department and is called a 4" Ceiling Collar and was $3.68
fan3.jpg

The other part you need for the fan mount is a 4" Duct Starter Collar and is $2.31
fan4.jpg

Also get a tube of Amazing Household goop glue to glue all the parts together a 3.5 oz tube is $4.57