What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Tatorger's terrarium

a>

Its a 55 gallon aquarium with 4 foot, 4 lamp t5. It gets about 88 degrees during the day and 68 during the night. the humidity is at an almost constant 68%.I know its not much too look at plant-wise, I'm just starting out. I've had pretty good luck with drosera seeds. Tell me what you think, any advice on terrarium growing would be greatly appreciated! Sorry the picture is so fuzzy, i took it in my phone

Thanks
-Travis

Last edited:
The pic didn't show up. What I do is put the pic that you want to share on flickr.com, then click the "share" button and copy the URL provided under that link to then paste in your post. I'm sure there are other methods, but this is what I found to work for me. You can't just post a pic directly from your documents, unfortunately.

Can you see the picture?

Yup. Looks like a good start. Update with more phhotos as the plants get bigger :)

Just a suggestion: keeping the pots out of the water is better for some CP's, but for most drosera it's usually better (and much easier) to just have the pots sitting in a little water (no more than about a cm). Most of them do well in saturated soil anyway; and again, it's so much easier than watering each pot individally.

...also, you can increase the light to your plants by puting some sort of reflective material around the sides on the terrarium

Definitely let the Drosera sit in the water. Most of them like bottom watering better than top watering.
Give it about a year and you'll wonder where all of the growing space went when you can't see the bottom anymore.

very clean, like the idea of using the pots to elevate the light diffuser out of the water.

For the best ideas around,