Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: I'm such a nerd

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

I'm such a nerd

Some of you may find this interesting, some of you might find it somewhat overly nerdy; but I thought it was kind of interesting.

I'm a software developer by trade and have started playing around with microprocessors and the like and recently purchased an Arduino and a bunch of electronic parts to go along with it. So I thought I'd combine that with my interest in carnivorous plants and create a temperature/humidity sensor system to record for me the trends of the temp/humidity levels in my terrarium. I only let it run (thus far) over night, but I plan to let it continue running for the next week to get some good statistical sampling.

At any rate, for those who are interested in the climate of my terrarium, here is a graph of last night's events. I'm going to credit the momentary spikes in humidity levels to noise inherent to the sensor itself. Nonetheless, the trends are obvious: as the temperature decreases, the humidity increases (not linearly either, which is interesting to me). My hope is to try to match the curves I find in each terrarium to a particular environment so I can shuffle the plants into their appropriate terrariums (Aussie plants go into the Aussie tank, South Africans go into the South African tank). My guess is someplace like weather underground will give me historical stats for the environments I'm interested in.

Anyway..here's the graph I'm working with so far.

plot by kwende.rush1, on Flickr

For those who are interested, I can supply the source code and the electrical diagrams I'm working with.

Totally clueless... Fish n Plants's Avatar
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    That's pretty interesting! You could probably also program things like "thunderstorms" with the Arduino.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)