Likes Likes:  3
Page 1 of 16 1234511 ... LastLast

Thread: My greenhouses at work

Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

My greenhouses at work

I don't know if anyone's seen my intro post but I am a professional research horticulturist in a major university's plant biology department. I manage 2 4,500 sqft greenhouses full of crop plants like corn, sunflowers, rice, millet, and anything else the researchers are interested in. I also manage a smaller greenhouse for teaching purposes, and it houses our CP and orchid collections as well as many other flowering plants.

I just wanted to show some pics of the plants that are a part of my daily life. We get lots of student groups of all ages, and since my specialty is CPs I love to introduce people to them and give away any stray Drosera seedpods when I can. I also haul the CP collection to a nearby botanical garden once a year as a feature for a big insect event. These plants get a workout! We have 3 Nepenthes that are over 20 years old and most of the species of Sarracenia. Since we don't specialize in CPs, there are significant holes that I have been trying to fill since I got here. I will be looking to trade in the upcoming months in order to achieve a better mix of Drosera, Dionaea, Sarracenia, and Nepenthes. We also lack Genlisea, Cephalotus, and Darlingtonia. However, I have masses of all kinds of tropicals and the ability to root cuttings on a mist bench.

I'll try to get some and more CP-specific photos later, but enjoy these for now! This was back in spring.

http://s960.photobucket.com/user/kev...orous%20Plants
    Last edited by theplantman; 04-23-2014 at 12:56 PM.

Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Apologies--I thought I was in the greenhouses forum, where this might be better suited.

Admin- I'm growing CPs in the Desert of Tucson, Az. adnedarn's Avatar
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Good looking stuff, must be fun!

Moved for ya.
    Andrew