Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: My growing setup. Any pointers?

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

My growing setup. Any pointers?

I am new to this, my goal is to get these plants nice and healthy and ready for some extended time lapse sequences in my studio

For now, i have them in my workshop, this is the current setup. They seem to be doing ... ok... but im seeing some strange things. The pitcher plants are sort of elongating, my red-dragon flytrap is half red/half green and is also elongating. I think this had to do with my prior setup and it was stretching to reach the light from the window.

I am using an LED setup in my current timelapse set (non carniverous) and the plants are just bursting out in flowers. However in a few weeks i plan to scrap that set and move to the CV set.

Here are some pics of my setup for growing and maintaining. I am using 4 x four foot T5 flourescant lights from Hydropharm. I have this sitting about 3 inches above the 3 10 gallon aquariums. It is set on a timer that turns on at 6am and off at 9pm. I have a small fan that also turns on to keep the temp from skyrocketing. I use saran wrap to create a cover and have a little opening / flap in the front that i can easily adjust to change humidity.

It generally stays around 70% humidity and 84-87 degrees Fahrenheit when the light is on.

Does anybody see any obvious newbie mistakes? I have been trying to search through the forums and learn as much as i can, the problem is i am extremely taxed on time, and i am hoping somebody may be kind enough to just glance over this and let me know if there is anything i am doing wrong. So far the plants are still growing. The sundew put out some lovely purple flowers, but my red dragon trap looks strange and elongated. Sae with one of the pitcher plants.