Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Substrate for N.campanulata

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Substrate for N.campanulata

So I'm just getting into Nepenthes and other carnivorous plants in my vivariums. My first attempts were growing N.ampullaria from seeds, and growing sundews on a moss drip wall. So far I've had success. Now I have a N.campanulata on order. I'm debating putting it in a terrarium with frogs where it will be placed on a piece of driftwood with some moss. I know they grow slow and stay small.

I've read they grow as a lithophyte as well, so can I get away with a small amount of sphagnum moss around its roots? Will that work or will I need the typical Nepenthes substrate mix I keep finding on websites?

Thanks for the help.

Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    First off, how big are the frogs? They could get gooped by the sticky nectar of N. campanulata. If they are on the smaller side, I would fear that the nectar may inhibit their breathing.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    They are Theloderma asperum and grow to a bit over an inch and a half. They are a tree frog that spends most of its time in tree hollows that are full of water.

Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hmmm, that sounds like a risk even with smaller Nepenthes.

However, N. campanulata is very nice plant and if you are able to, you should grow it anyways with its own setup.

- - - Updated - - -

Also, here is a link to what I am talking about in regards to the nectar of N. campanulata: Nepenthes campanulata -- stringy nectar (2) - YouTube

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    A lot of the common consensus with other Nepenthes, including the over protective keepers in the dart frog community, is that most pitchers are low risk, if any, for frogs.