What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

I have a ten-gallon terrarium (10''x20'') that I would like to light with florescent light tubes.

I'm new to all this. Where do I begin?

well wolfn the size of area will be best suited with this bulb http://homeharvest.com/hydrofarmcompactfluorescents.htm
The compact flourescent bulbs are probably your best bet. That one there in particular has the k rating and lumens of nearly 8500 wich should be plenty for what you have.

so lost...

I read through this entire thread and all it did was make me want to murder someone...... Even after all that, I still can't figure out what it is that is the best as far as fluorescent 4 foot tube lights is!!!

Is it daylight? 6500k? Cool white? Warm? Sunlight? a combo of such?

surely someone has the correct answer to this.

Currently I grow under 4 t8 tubes, 2 daylight, 1 cool white, 1 warm white and my plants seem like they are growing just fine, but I would love to improve the lighting if there was a straight answer in here!

:censor:

Lol I feel like I'm going nuts now....please someone clarify this horrible mess of info

thank you!!

Vinylsock

ask 15 people get 15 answers padawan..... and yeah, the thread is full of "opinions"

improve the reflector is a universal answer.... but when it comes to bulb selection, it becomes very personal

I like 5000k :p

I am getting a 100w led from ebay to light my terrarium. Anybody tried this?