Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: New lighting

Stay chooned in for more! Clint's Avatar
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    hi, i'm about to start my new terrarium. its a brand new 75 gallon tank. 48'' long, 21'' hish, and 18'' wide. I have 2 normal out put ballast (each powers 2 4' fluors) and a VHO ballast (powers 4 4' fluors)

now then, what types of bulbs should i get? the bulbs that are lit by the VHO ballast will run alot brighter than normal bulbs and will have more lumens. they will be about double what a normal output bulb gives off, and then some.

so i need 8 bulbs total. what cambinations would work best for me? are there any 48 inch UV bulbs to gvie my plants enough uv?

one more thing, i've been being very worried about heat. how do i heat this terrarium? i want it to stay a constant 35 degrees C or 95 degrees F. it will house lowland neps. ect. this is my first time with Cp's in a serious way.

and about humity, will this mist maker be enough? i want my humidity level to be VERY high. as high as i can get them. http://www.mainlandmart.com/foggers.html

its the fith item down. M005(DK5-48)

would it be better to get that one, or 5 normal ones? the price difference isn't very much.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    To begin you shouldnt need much more than the 440 watts of VHO's as for UV its not necessary, plants do not require supplimental UV to flourish. I would run two URI, AquaSun lamps and two URI ActinicWhite lamps, as for the NO's any cheap cool white and/or warm white lamps will do.

Heat should be no problem with all those lamps and ballasts over an enclosed glass box, neither should maintaining your humidity. Besides youll soon learn that your plants appreaciate a much lower constant day time temp than 95 degrees. Id say your definately going overboard with that fogger , ONE of smallest units should do it. Just remember those things get HOT so dont ever let it run dry.