What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Name that Nep!

NaRnAr

Ive got Crabs!
I found this guy at a local plant nursery. All that is on the plant stick was "Pitcher $9.99"...so your guess will be FAR better than mine since this is my first Nep *all geeked out*

Here is the entire plant:
DSC05660.jpg

and some of what is left of the pitchers...they all look sad like this:
DSC05661.jpg

DSC05662.jpg

Thanks for your help!
~nar

I'm going to go with N. x ventrata for 500!

I'll raise to 600.

Thanks guys! :-D

yup, I am 99.99% certain it is ventrata!

I'm no Nep expert for sure, but the pitcher shape does not look like any of the so-called and ID'd ventratas that I have had. This plant came from elgecko:

AF001301.jpg

AF001201.jpg

IMG_0784.jpg

The pitchers have no pink/red on them like those. They are entirely green from what I can tell and are maybe 2 inches long/tall...but they are also dying. Perhaps I will have to wait for a really good pitcher to grow to make that 100% confirmation of a ventrata? Do all ventrata have pinkish pitchers? or are some green?

I know that there is variation among ventratas, but I'm not sure what they are. Here's an old picture of a Judith Finn, but...

AF001501.jpg

can we get a size reference to the larger pitchers? ventrata pitchers don't have wings after a certain size... I am lowering my certainty to 40%, lol.

Don't forget that a hybrid (unless cloned) will not be the same as the same hybrid with different plants. You could have two different hybrids of ventrata.

-Max

Sure I can get a few more pics of the pitchers. Probably wont be until Sunday as I am working 14 hours today and tomorrow *ugh. But I will do that!