What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Sarr ID

I got this at home depot, it was all green at first, an I don't think it has very mature pitchers.
Any info would be helpful, approx age, if the pitchers will get larger, If they will develop more color.
PICT0008-2.jpg

PICT0006-1.jpg

PICT0012.jpg

PICT0014-2.jpg

When I first got the plant
PICT0003.jpg

PICT0010-1.jpg

I'm thinking it has some purpurea.
Thanks.

I'm not a real expert on Sarracenia, but I think that plant might be of the "Bug" series or maybe S. minor. Just a hunch though :)

Hope it grows well for you!

Perhaps one of the 'bug' series? I'm not really sure.

What is the "bug" series haha. And it is not a s. minor, I have one of those too, Its actually in the background of the first picture when the plant was green
thanks

You will never know exactly what it is..
all you can say is that its a "mixed hybrid"..
anything else is just guesswork..sorry..

its VERY mixed..
at least three species in there..probably more..
if I had to guess at three, I would say flava, rubra and purpurea..
but thats just a guess! ;)
maybe some minor too, for the hood shape..

whatever you"decide" it is..please dont put any kind of official label or tag on it..
because you cant be sure..

Scot

It has a very 'Cobra nest' appearance I think but I wouldnt call it that just yet. There's a few characteristics that arent exactly like Cobra nest. I would wait until you get some more mature pitchers and update us.

For now and possibly the entirety of the plant's life it'd be best to label it as 'unknown'.

I was going to 'label' it red bug. Because I just looked for the bug series. Is that accurate?