Informational! Informational!:  0
Likes Likes:  0

Thread: Terrestrial Hermit Crabs

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Terrestrial Hermit Crabs

I am an avid crabber of the coenobita persuasion. I have fallen in love with them. I have been keeping them since April of 2007. I have to say though, that my dearly beloved crab, Hermes, a compressus, had passed away from a bad molt just this past Christmas. He was the crab that got me into keeping hermit crabs. My first crab.
    Anyways. Here are some pictures of the crabarium or crabitiat as some call them.

I currently have 5 clypeatus' and one very naughty violescens who needs to have a seperate tank. She is the one in the water dish, wearing the pink murex shell.
    "FEED ME!!" ~ Audrey II, Little Shop of Horrors

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Neat, when I was kid my uncle had one that was about the size of softball. he was a true houdini, no tank could hold him!

Do you put Iodine (Kent Marine Iodide) in their water dishes? The guy who sold me the Geosesarma crabs said he had molting problems until he started using 1 drop of Iodine per 5 gallons of fresh water. Other keepers of "Vampire Crabs" have confirmed this to me. Apparently more Iodine is bad but 1 drop is good to stop bad molts. You'd have to ask on some crab forums about the usefulness of Iodine on hermits though.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Actually, from what I have assertained, iodine is lethal to hermits. Thus the reason for using marine grade salt water instead of adding idodized salt to water to make salt water.
    "FEED ME!!" ~ Audrey II, Little Shop of Horrors

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)