What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Hi,

Just joined the group after spending a week or so reading posts and articles. I had a lot of failed attemps when I was younger, buying CPs from various sources and watching them die, but in the last two years I've started making a more serious attempt - not that I can really afford another hobby, but these things are addictive.

I'm a marine biologist and I work at a public aquarium. My boss just gave me permission to put in a raised bog CP display in one of our flower beds outside (here in Long Island, NY). I'll be stocking it with a variety of North American CPs. At home, I have a 90 gallon terrarium with tropical sundews and 2 Nepenthes.

Anyway, I'm happy to have found this group and I look forward to spending more time here.

Thanks,
Todd

Welcome to the forums Todd. You New Yorkers are beginning to out number the rest of us
laugh.gif

I guess that's because the sparse wilderness around here forces us to get our nature fix in our back yards, terrariums, and fish tanks.

Welcome Todd.
smile.gif
I ,too, had many failed attempts at growing carnivorous plants when I was younger. I managed to kill a HUGE pot of Sarracenia purpurea purpurea, several venus fly traps,and a few sundews. In the past 5 years or so, I started researching how to grow them, and that is how I found terraforums. Anyways, feel free to PM me about any question that you might have.
dewy

hey i got an idea...combine both of your passions! for example put utricularia in a freshwater tank
smile.gif