What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Basement grower from minnesota

hey my name is drew, but i've been called meaven for the longest time (weird, long story... maybe another time).

anyway, i'm new to growing CPs... sorta. i've had my actual terrarium for about 2 months.

it all started when i saw a big case of VFTs at the floral department of the grocery store i work at. i thought it would be cute to buy one for my girlfriend... turns out she has a horrific phobia of CPs ever since she saw a little shop of horrors play when she was young. darn it. so ok i took it home, made a crappy terrarium out of a soda bottle and proceeded to watch it die no matter what i did.

i'm persistant by nature. so what did i do? i went out and bought an aquarium, shop lights, and various other things and threw my setup together. then i ordered a big variety of CPs, and bought all the remaining VFTs from my store (there were 6).

so now they are all doing pretty well in my terrarium, its been about 2 months and all the plants have exploded in growth, im really suprised how well i've done.

i have a bit of a coloration issue going on but i think thats just because i dont have the right lighting yet.

right now i want to expand my collection with some more exotic stuff, like N. hamata or villosa, but these seem super hard to find... i'll keep trying.

anyway, thats me. oh, and by the way, me and my girlfriend broke up. something about evil plants next to the bed, i dont know. she was crazy anyhow.

[b said:
Quote[/b] (Meaven @ Aug. 26 2006,8:32)]anyway, thats me.  oh, and by the way, me and my girlfriend broke up.  something about evil plants next to the bed, i dont know.  she was crazy anyhow.