What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Greetings from Mid-Michigan

Fryster

--Freedom Czar--
Greetings from Mid-Michigan!

I’ve been lurking here for a couple months now and thought it a good time to join in on the fray.

I’m a newbie to the CP world. I’ve had VFT’s on and off over the years but always managed to kill them pretty quickly. The store-bought VFT that I have now survived the winter in a cold spare bedroom with only a cheapie full-spectrum “mood light” for a light source. It even managed to capture three kinds of bugs on its own when I’ve never ever seen a bug in that room! :)

I’d like to develop a small collection of different CP. Perhaps a dozen or so of the easier to grow varieties. (I’m still trying to learn the confusing Latin names.) I have done a lot of online research on CP and I think I have some of the basics of CP care & growing covered.

My current living conditions might be a little unique… I live in a two-bedroom apartment (flat) with the majority of windows facing exactly North-West. And two of the windows have an over-hang above them. The most direct sunlight I get is in the spring/summer when the sun is setting. So receiving direct sunlight in a sufficient amount is a big problem.

Being in Mid-Michigan means I only get good outdoor growing temperatures like four months of the year. So, it looks like I’ll be using indoor grow-lights for the majority of the time.

Anyway, that’s my story. I’m sure I’ll be asking a lot of questions to the more experienced members here. Thanks for listening!! (and reading...)

:welcome: and enjoy your stay. Hope you learn a lot!

Welcome to TF!

Welcome... or Yo as I like to say

:banana2:

(Sorry, couldn't resist that)

Howdy! Welcome to the "fray!"

xvart.