What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Whaddup everyone. I'm Daniel. I figured I'd introduce myself as I plan on becoming an active member of this forum. To be honest, this is the first forum I have ever participated in, and as such I am a forum newb too. My main interest in CP's are Nepenthes, but I have a few Cephalotus F. plants as well. I also like the North American Pitcher Plants and Heliamphora, but I have neither. My interest in CP's was first sparked by a random trip to Home Depot a little over a year ago. I have always had a green thumb (growing vegetables) growing up, but I never really knew much about CP’s. So anyway, I found myself in the garden center of Home Depot paying for some random items, when a VFT display case caught my eye. I had only tried keeping a VFT once before (around age 10), when me and my cousin got the bright idea to feed it a chunk of the greasiest hamburger meat ever made. The plant obviously died, and I soon became disinterested in what I then believed to be finicky plants. Keep in mind I was 10. So I thought about it, and figured for a couple of bucks I can give a new plant a try and maybe save it from its constraining cup/terrarium/coffin. I also figured I was a little more intelligent than when I was at 10. So in a classic impulse buy, I snagged a VFT from the case right next to the register. Crafty Sons'a'guns. When I got home I put the plant near a sunlit window and started the googlage. I learned all about VFT requirements, and then I stumbled onto an online CP store. I started by checking out the different VFT’s and then the Nepenthes caught my eye. I had never seen such crazy looking plants. So naturally, I whipped out the plastic debt-creator, and ordered two interesting-looki