What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Greetings from Southern California! My name is Julia and I am a student at UCLA. I grow slipper orchids, paphiopedilums and phragmipediums, cacti, and up until last summer had a fairly substantial collection of pings, cephs, and N. ampullaria. Unfortunately, I entrusted them to a friend while I left and they all died. I couldn't even look at any CPs until last week when I ran across a P. moranensis at the store and remembered just how much I missed them. So here I am, starting at square 1. It's frustrating because the plants that I treasured most, my P. laueana and cephs seem impossiable to find. I'm planning to attend the next Los Angeles Carnivorous Plant Society meeting, so hopefully I can get some help there too. Any how, nice meeting everyone, it's good to share a passion with people.

Here are some of my orchids:
PaphUtgard001-1.jpg

sorcerersapprentence4nxgrande4n004.jpg

rothborneogoldengate20074.jpg

Hi Julia!

I'm also a student at UCLA...
What year are you and what's your major?

I'm a senior, and graduating as an art major, but I am going to grad for landscape architecture. What about you?

Welcome to the forums.

You probably joined here at the right time. In June NASC will hold their annual plant auction here. There is always some rare stuff and I'm sure there will be a couple of cephs.

welcome; hopefully i will be seeing you at the nevt meeting hmmm

I'm a first year bio major, but I'm considering my other options as far as switching majors goes.

Welcome to TF! Ever hear of Jefferson Airplane?

I went to UCLA for eye doctors visits :D
They finally found out what was up with my vision :)
Like 9 doctors later..... The second trip 7 years later got it right :jester: