What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Seattle area noob...

Greetings from the area west of Seattle across Puget Sound. I'm fairly new to CP's but was gifted a good sized pot w/ some pitchers three years back which have remained healthy w/ little influence on my part. Looking to expand and learn.... Recently acquired a 55gal tank and will likely be asking questions on setting it up properly.

If there are any formal/informal CP's gatherings in this region please let me know.

Cheers...-Scott-

Welcome Scott,

You'll have to be more specific which kind of pitchers you got. If they are North American pitcher plants (Sarracenia) then ditch the tank the idea. These plants require full sun and do very well outdoors.

I suggest you keep the tank as a terrarium to increase humidity, place plants in pots in the tank, it'll allow for some plants (Nepenthes) that require higher RH. Not all but some do.

Yann

Sorry, that was a lack of clarity on my part. The pitcher plants (Sarracenia) are the ones I have outdoors. I'm looking to build an indoor set-up as well but have yet to acquire the plants (Nepenthes).

Ok, thanks for the clarification, for your terra you will be able to accommodate several species but not all. Some are also harder to grow so the choice will be up to you if you're feeling lucky and wanting to spend some $$$. For the terra, most Nepenthes will do well though not all will require high RH. Depending on your day and night temperatures you'll be able to grow highlander/intermediates or lowlanders.