What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

hi there friends!

Hello!:wave: My name is Iuliana, I am from Europe, Romania, i've just joined this forum 'cause in march this year i have bought 2 CP a VFT and a sarracenia purpurea venosa and needed some help with them.
These are my plants:
P1080696.jpg

P1080695.jpg

P1080693.jpg

P1080692.jpg

and my newest addition unknown sarracenia the one in the right
P1080694.jpg

Iuliana.. that's fun to say.

What sort of help are you needing?

hi mass! i was wandering if my VFT is attacked by some fungus or something because of the leaves blackening, it kills me to see my plant dying like that. I know my plants are not looking too good, i am new to CP's, i am researching at the moment on how to keep them happy and healthy.

Iuliana,
actually, your plants look good!
the browning/blackening of the VFT leaves looks like perfectly normal "leaf old age" to me..
as individual leafs and traps get older, they simply turn brown or black and die off..as long as newer traps are coming in to replace them, there is nothing to worry about..once the leaf is more than half black, you can just cut it off..(as long as the plant is healthy, you can cut it off any time really..)

looks like you are growing your plants outside? that is good! :)
outside is MUCH better than inside for VFT's and Sarracenia..