What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

gnathaniel

Subsurface Lurker
Hey everyone, I've grown orchids and other miscellany, usually including one or two CPs, for a few years. My friend Kevin told me about this forum and I finally joined to learn more about Utricularias, a recently developed obsession. I'm intermittently active on a few of the orchid forums and think I've 'met' some of you there. This forum looks great and I'm sure I'll have many questions once I jump into growing more CPs.

On a more personal note, I'm a grad-level student at the U of GA, married to a VERY patient woman, and father of wonderful 5- and 1-year-old boys. I'm in the middle of exams right now and generally always busy outside exam time, so please don't think I'm intentionally ignoring you if I respond slowly.

Once my schedule calms down in a week or two I'll try to post some orchids for trade. If anyone has spare Utrics, Droseras, and live Sphagnum you'd like to trade for orchids, feel free to contact me in advance. I grow zero Utricularia at the moment so any and all are welcome, but pubescens, quelchii, capilliflora, and striatula are of particular interest. Please also feel free to tell me my 'wish list' is ridiculous. :crazy:

Welcome! :welcome:

Glad to hear that there's new growers interested in Utricularia - its not exactly an enormously popular genus. Your wishlist is going to be hard to find for sure. U. capilliflora, as far as I know, has only been grown by Yves-Andre Utz. Its also an annual, so if you ever did get it you would probably need a genetically diverse population to maintain it long-term.